JAZZ IMPRESSIONS OF ENNIO MORRICONE

Seattle composers pay tribute to the legendary film  music of Ennio Morricone J&J Music, Seattle Jazz  Composers Ensemble and University Prep are proud to  present Jazz Impressions of Ennio Morricone, a  special one-time performance by the Seattle Jazz  Composers Ensemble (SJCE).

On February 19th, 2010 the SJCE will perform its  second concert: Jazz Impressions of Ennio Morricone.  For the program, SCJE commissioned Seattle  composers and arrangers to create 4 new original  works and new arrangements of Morricone  classics, including music from the films The Good, the  Bad, and the Ugly, A Fistful of Dollars,  Il MercenarioThe Mission, Cinema Paradiso, and Inglourious Basterds (sic). Featured composers include Jim Knodle, Michael Owcharuk, Nate Omdal, Samantha Boshnack, Josh Rawlings, and Ethan Thomas. The music is to be performed by a 17 piece band featuring many of Seattle’s top musicians: Cynthia Mullis, Beth Fleenor, Jim Knodle, Jason Parker, Samantha Boshnack, Nelson Bell, Michael Owcharuk, Nate Omdal, Cody Rahn, Scott Morning, Aaron Jenkins, Brian Bermudez, Mike Dodge, Ron Gilchrist, Elsa Nilsson, Ron Gilchrist, and Greg Belisle-Chi. Jazz Impressions of Ennio Morricone will take place Friday, February 19th, 2010 at 7pm at University Prep Founder’s Hall, 8000 25th Avenue NE Seattle, WA 98115. The show is all ages and admission is $15 general / $8 students and seniors.

The Seattle Jazz Composers Ensemble is a grassroots effort to create and perform new music for large ensemble by Pacific Northwest composers and arrangers. Co-directors Michael Owcharuk and Nate Omdal assemble project-based ensembles from a rotating cast of Seattle’s finest musicians. SJCE performs unique, themed concert programs that feature exciting new takes on influential music spanning across much of the Western music canon. Their first concert featured the music of Miles Davis’s classic The Birth of the Cool and received rave reviews.

About seattlejazzcomposersensemble

SJCE was first conceived by co-directors Michael Owcharuk and Nate Omdal in 2007. Their love of large ensemble music instilled a desire to create an infrastructure that provides opportunities for other local composers and musicians to create and perform new large ensemble music. Since then, SJCE has commissioned 15 composers, featured over 30 musicians, produced several large concert events a year, and performed many grassroots concerts; all sustained through community support. SJCE has received support from 4Culture, The Seattle Mayor’s Office of Arts and Cultural Affairs, and has garnered media attention from the Seattle Times, The Stranger, and 94.9fm KUOW. SJCE is an partner artist program of the non-profit fiscal sponsorship and consultation company Shunpike, a 501(c)(3).

7 responses »

  1. Lyndsey says:

    Really looking forward to this!

    Are tickets sold at the door only, or can I buy them online? Do you think it’ll sell out? I heard about this on KUOW.

    Thanks,

    Lyndsey

  2. Ismael Marrero says:

    Hello, Mr. Omdal,
    Do you know if the poster for the concert is available for purchase? I’m writing an article for the newsletter of MSV: The Ennio Morricone Society, in Holland, and I’d like to include a copy of the poster in my submission. (Incidentally, the article is about my luck in being able to attend this Morricone concert, after having bought a ticket to Ennio’s show at the Hollywood Bowl last October that was canceled!) In any case, thanks for any insight on this. And see you Friday!
    -Ismael

    • Mr. Marrero,

      I’m actually the artist who painted the poster. I’d be happy to sell you a copy of the poster. I can offer you a signed 20×30, glossy print for $50. (Includes printing) I can also offer you a digital image for $30.

      Thanks for your interest

      Nate Omdal

      • Ismael says:

        hi again, Nate,
        thx 4 ur reply. but, 2 quote Pootie Tang, “I gots to say na-nay-no, my damies.” all I had in mind was 1 of those flyers that were taped 2 the doors of the Founders Hall during Friday’s show (I should’ve nabbed it). anyway, I wanted 2 say that I enjoyed ur show a lot. also, I’d like 2 ask u (4 the MSV newsletter): -1- what was it about “Nuovo cinema Paradiso” specifically that inspired u 2 put ur show 2gether? -2- did u find it interesting that ur arrangements were more faithful 2 the originals than everyone else’s (or was that part of ur master plan)?
        thx again for ur insight,
        Ismael

      • Ismael,

        Sorry for the confusion about the image! I was thinking you wanted a large reproduction. My mistake. If it works for your purposes, please feel free to copy the image from the site above. If that doesn’t work, send me an email address you would like it sent to, and I would be happy to take care of you.

        As for your other questions: 1) What inspired me about Cinema Paradiso was a certain scale that Morricone used in writing the theme. It’s a very common scale for jazz and blues, and the way he used the material felt very familiar to me. I’m also a huge fan of the work that Miles Davis did in the late 50s and early 60s with arranger/composer Gil Evans. The two collaborated on a spectacular album called “Sketches of Spain” and featured an arrangement of Spanish composer Rodrigo’s “Concierto De Aranjuez”. Rodrigo’s piece strikes a similar mood or color as Morricone’s works, and it was clear to me how well his works would translate to a band similar to the Davis/Evans project.
        2) I think that’s more of a reflection of my relationship with the films these songs are a part of than my tastes as an arranger. Specifically “Un Amico” (which was the last song of the evening) which was featured in the closing scenes of “Inglorious Basterds” is hard for me to separate the visual from the music, it seemed appropriate to honor the original song as much as possible.

        Hope that helps. Thanks so much for your interest. Please let me know if I offer anything else.

        Nate Omdal

  3. Ismael Marrero says:

    hi again, Nate,
    sorry for the 2-month hiatus. I truly appreciated your insight on the show & its inspiration. as I’d mentioned, I was writing up my experience (and your helpful comments) and getting it published in the latest issue of MSV: The Ennio Morricone Society (a newsletter based in Holland). today, I received a PDF of just my article. would you like a copy of it? I can e-mail it to you, if you’d like.

    thanks again, and hope to hear back soon.
    -Ismael

Leave a Reply

